Polari Book Prize

The Polari Prize is awarded annually and celebrates an overall book of the year. Spotlighting a vast array of genres with an incredible breadth and talent of LGBTQ+ writers. 


Our wives under the sea

Armfield, Julia ISBN: 9781529017250

Add to Basket

A story of falling in love, loss, grief, and what life there is in the deep, deep sea. Miri thinks she has got her wife back, when Leah finally returns after a deep sea mission that ended in catastrophe. But It soon becomes clear that Leah may have come back wrong. Whatever happened in that vessel, whatever it was they were supposed to be studying before they were stranded on the ocean floor, Leah has carried part of it with her, onto dry land and into their home. Memories of what they had before - the jokes they shared, the films they watched, all the small things that made Leah hers - only remind Miri of what she stands to lose. Living in the same space but suddenly separate, Miri comes to realize that the life that they had might be gone.

– Browns Books Synopsis.

Previous winners include Andrew McMillan (Playtime), Kate Davies (In At the Deep End) and Diana Souhami for No Modernism Without Lesbians.