Wainwright Prize - Conservation Writing

The Wainwright Prize was named in honour of Alfred Wainwright, the author of the famous fell walking series, and since 2021 the prize is sponsored by James Cropper PLC

There are three categories, and they are awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values and include a celebration of nature and our natural environment, or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe.


The lost rainforests of Britain

Shrubsole, Guy ISBN: 9780008527990

Add to Basket

Temperate rainforest may once have covered up to one-fifth of Britain, inspiring Celtic druids, Welsh wizards, Romantic poets, and Arthur Conan Doyle's most loved creations.

Though only fragments now remain, they are home to a dazzling variety of luminous life-forms. In this awe-inspiring investigation, Guy Shrubsole travels through the Western Highlands and the Lake District, down to the rainforests of Wales, Devon, and Cornwall to map these spectacular lost worlds for the first time. This is the extraordinary tale of one person's quest to find Britain's lost rainforests - and bring them back.

- Browns Books Synopsis

Over previous years it has been largely funded by sponsors: Thwaites, Marston Brewery (who produced the ‘Wainwright Golden Beer’ brand), the Alfred Wainwright Estate and the Quarto Group. The publicity and promotional campaign for the prize is self-financed by promotional levies from publishers with shortlisted titles.

As of 2021, the prize is now sponsored by James Cropper PLC

The prize is project managed by Agile in association with The National Trust and with promotional support from; BBC Countryfile Live, The Outdoor Guide, The Wainwright Society and many others.