Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Junk Boy

Junk Boy

By: Abbott, Tony

stars icon
0062491253 / 9780062491251
Hardback
12/11/2020
Published 12/11/2020
United States
140 x 210 mm, 431 grams 368 pages
Teenage / Young Adult  Learn More

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's YA novel-in-verse is an unflinching and heartbreaking look at a boy's junk-filled life, and the ways he finds redemption and hope, perfect for fans of The Crossover and Long Way Down. Junk. That's what the kids at school call Bobby Lang, mostly because his rundown house looks like a junkyard, but also because they want to put him down.

Trying desperately to live under the radar at school-and at the home he shares with his angry, neglectful father-Bobby develops a sort of proud loneliness.

The only buffer between him and the uncaring world is his love of the long, wooded trail between school and home. Life grinds along quietly and hopelessly for Bobby until he meets Rachel.

Rachel is an artist who sees him in a way no one ever has.

Maybe it's because she has her own kind of junk, and a parent who hates what Rachel is: gay.

Together the two embark on journeys to clean up the messes that fill their lives, searching against all odds for hope and redemption. Narrated in Bobby's unique voice in arresting free verse, this novel will captivate readers right from its opening lines, urging them on page after page, all the way to its explosive conclusion.

BIC:

YFB General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£9.68
RRP £12.99
Save 25.5%
Other Formats
Ebook£23.50
Hardback£9.68