Image for Salt Slow

Salt Slow : From the author of Our Wives Under the Sea

See all formats and editions

In her brilliantly inventive and haunting debut collection of stories, Julia Armfield explores the body, mapping the skin and bones of her characters through their experiences of isolation, obsession, love and revenge. 'Wickedly clever prose and a sense of humour that seems to loom up like a character in itself' – M John Harrison, GuardianTeenagers develop ungodly appetites, a city becomes insomniac overnight, and bodies are diligently picked apart to make up better ones.

The mundane worlds of schools and sleepy sea-side towns are invaded and transformed, creating a landscape which is constantly shifting to hold on to its inhabitants. Blurring the mythic and the gothic with the everyday, Salt Slow considers characters in motion – turning away, turning back or simply turning into something new entirely. Winner of The White Review Short Story Prize, Armfield is a writer of sharp, lyrical prose and tilting dark humour. 'Salt Slow is exemplary. A distinct new gothic, melancholy, powerful and poised.' – China Miéville, author of The City & The City'The stories in this collection look at women’s bodies and their experiences in society with an eerie, otherworldly lense . . . For fans of Carmen Maria Machado, Sophie Mackintosh and Megan Hunter' –Elle

Read More
Special order line: only available to educational & business accounts. Sign In
£7.49 Save 25.00%
RRP £9.99
Product Details
Picador
1529012597 / 9781529012590
Paperback / softback
823.92
19/03/2020
United Kingdom
English
General
192 pages : illustrations (black and white)
20 cm
Originally published: 2019.