Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for I am every good thing

I am every good thing

By: Barnes, Derrick James, Gordon C(Illustrated by)

stars icon
0755502701 / 9780755502707
Paperback
04/02/2021
500+ in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
28 cm 28 unnumbered pages : chiefly illustrations (colour)
Children / Juvenile  Learn More
Originally published: New York: Nancy Paulsen Books.

Selected by Oprah Magazine as one of its 'essential books for discussing racism with kids'. I am a non-stop ball of energy. Powerful and full of light. I am a go-getter. A difference-maker. A leader. Step inside the mind of the confident narrator of this book.

He is proud of everything that makes him who he is. He's got big plans, and will see them through. He's creative, adventurous, smart, funny. A good friend. A superhero. Sometimes he falls, but he always gets back up. And other times he's afraid, because he's often misunderstood.

So, slow down, look and listen as he shows you who he really is ... Featured in the Booktrust Great Books Guide 2021 Observer Children's Picture Book of the Month Perfect for fans of Dapo Adeola's Hey You! 'Pitch-perfect... Gordon C James's painted portraits brim with spirit and dignity.

The result is a truly special book by an American author-illustrator duo at the top of their game' - Imogen Carter, Observer 'A poetic paean to the brilliance of black boys, its energetic pages filled with courage, joy and vivid, dynamic illustrations' - Guardian 'A powerful celebration of Black boyhood' - Booklist, starred review 'A much-needed book for Black children when society demonstrates otherwise' - Kirkus Reviews, starred review 'This beautiful and necessary book that affirms Black boys and their right to thrive' - Horn Book, starred review 'An empowering ode to Black boy joy' - Publishers Weekly, starred review 'Page after page of empowering text speaks to energetic children everywhere' - School Library Journal, starred review

BIC:

YBCS Picture storybooks, YXA Personal & social issues: body & health (Children's / Teenage), YXL Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's / Teenage), YXN Personal & social issues: racism & multiculturalism (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£5.99
RRP £7.99
Save 25%
Other Formats
Laminated£13.49
Paperback£5.99