Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Things can only get better

Things can only get better

By: Barnett, David M.

stars icon
1409185168 / 9781409185161
Paperback
823.92
14/11/2019
11 in stock Need More ?
England
General
20 cm 325 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

*FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CALLING MAJOR TOM*'I loved it!' - Joanne Harris, Sunday Times bestselling author of Chocolat'I loved it.

Nostalgic without being saccharine, hopeful, real characters with edge.

A brilliant book.' - Hayley Webster'I adored it! Truly uplifting. Exactly what people want and need to read right now.' - Daisy BuchananFor elderly churchwarden Arthur Calderbank, there's no place like home.

His home just so happens to be a graveyard. He keeps himself to himself, gets on with his job, and visits his wife everyday for a chat.

When one day he finds someone else has been to see his wife - and has left flowers on her grave - he is determined to solve the mystery of who and why.

He receives unlikely help from a group of teenage girls as he searches for answers, and soon learns that there is more to life than being surrounded by death. Set during the 90s, when we were all just common people believing things could only get better, this is an uplifting story about the power of a little kindness, friendship and community.

For readers who enjoy Sue Townsend, Ruth Hogan and Joanna Cannon.

BIC:

FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), FRD Adult & contemporary romance

Our price£7.19
RRP £8.99
Save 20%
Other Formats