Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The old wives' tale

The old wives' tale (New edition.)

By: Bennett, Arnold Sanghera, Sathnam(Introduction by)

stars icon
0099595354 / 9780099595359
Paperback
823.912
07/08/2014
13 in stock Need More ?
England
Classics
20 cm 608 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

'There are few more moving accounts of the effects of time, the passage of history and the slow encroachment of age than this remarkable, epic novel' Guardian Discover this powerful novel about the ordinary lives of the Baines sisters.

The perfect next step for fans of Little Women. In The Old Wives' Tale, Arnold Bennett tells the story of two such old wives, sisters Constance and Sophia, from youth, through marriage, heartbreak, triumphs and disasters, to old age.

In doing so, he reveals with careful compassion the intense inner lives that throb beneath every seemingly insignificant exterior. WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY SATHNAM SANGHERA

BIC:

FC Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Our price£8.24
RRP £10.99
Save 25%
Other Formats