Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The quantum astrologer's handbook

The quantum astrologer's handbook

By: BROOKS, MICHAEL

1911344404 / 9781911344407
Hardback
510.902
12/10/2017
12 in stock Need More ?
22 cm 248 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

A Daily Telegraph book of the year. A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other. This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century.

Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes.

This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics.

That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world. The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco.

It is a work of and about genius.

BIC:

3H c 1000 CE to c 1500, PBX History of mathematics, PDX History of science, PHQ Quantum physics (quantum mechanics & quantum field theory), VXFA Astrology

Our price£11.89
RRP £16.99
Save 30%
Other Formats
Hardback£11.89
Paperback£6.99