Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for A song of wraiths and ruin

A song of wraiths and ruin

By: Brown, Roseanne A.

stars icon
0062891502 / 9780062891501
Paperback
13/05/2021
11 in stock Need More ?
United States
21 cm 466 pages : map (black and white)
Teenage / Young Adult  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: 2020.

An instant New York Times bestseller!The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction-from debut author Roseanne A.

Brown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renee Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir. For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran.

But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal-kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia's freedom. But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck.

Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic . . . requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition. When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other.

But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?"Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West African folklore.

An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")Don't miss the second book in this epic duology, A Psalm of Storms and Silence!

BIC:

YFH Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage), YFM Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£5.59
RRP £7.99
Save 30%
Other Formats