Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for I predict a riot

I predict a riot

By: Bruton, Catherine

stars icon
1405267194 / 9781405267199
Paperback
05/06/2014
Out of print
United Kingdom
20 cm 291 pages
Children's (6-12)  Learn More
Quiz No: 228700, Points 10.00, Book Level 4.90,
Upper Years - Key Stage 3 Learn More

Explosive, emotional drama from the author of We Can Be Heroes, perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff and Annabel Pitcher. Welcome to Coronation Road - a kaleidoscope of clashing cultures and parallel lives.

There's Maggie and her politician mum in their big house.

There's Tokes and his mum in a tiny bedsit, running from trouble. And there's the ruthless Starfish gang, breeding fear through the neighbourhood. Amateur film-maker Maggie prefers to watch life through the lens of her camera.

In Tokes, she finds a great subject for her new film. And when violence erupts, led by the Starfish gang, Maggie has the perfect backdrop.

But as the world explodes around her, Maggie can't hide behind the lens anymore . . . Catherine Bruton is a major voice in young adult fiction, her prose was described by the Sunday Times as witty, wise and compelling.

Readers who enjoyed Robin Talley's Lies We Tell Ourselves will be enthralled by this novel about social and racial tensions, inspired by the London riots. Look out for Catherine's other books:We Can Be HeroesPopAfter graduating from the University of Oxford, Catherine Bruton began her career as an English teacher and later went on to write feature articles for The Times and other publications.

I Predict a Riot is her third novel for Egmont, following We Can Be Heroes and Pop!, which received high acclaim.

Catherine lives near Bath with her husband and two children.

BIC:

5AM Interest age: from c 11 years, YFB General fiction (Children's / Teenage), YXF Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's / Teenage)

Title Unavailable: Out of Print