Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Kindred

Kindred

By: Butler, Octavia E.

stars icon
1472258223 / 9781472258229
Paperback
813.6
03/05/2018
14 in stock Need More ?
England
General
20 cm xii, 295 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: New York: Doubleday, 1979.

**'The marker you should judge all other time-travelling narratives by' Guardian**Octavia E.

Butler's masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing.

With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo. '[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' New York Times 'No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential' The Pool In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer.

In 1815, she is assumed a slave. When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning.

She saves his life - and it will happen again and again. Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them. And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun. Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time. What readers are saying about KINDRED:'It was written in 1979 but could have been written last year.

Incredible. I couldn't put it down' 'The narrator is us - we see the abomination and humiliation of slavery not through a slave's eyes, but our modern-day eyes, and it makes it all the more powerful' 'A must-read for everyone''Emotionally and viscerally alive and challenging.

I don't know how I missed it before now'

BIC:

FL Science fiction

Our price£6.70
RRP £8.99
Save 25.5%
Other Formats
eBook£16.00
Hardback£26.95
Paperback£6.70