Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Berlioz  : servitude and greatness, 1832-1869

Berlioz : servitude and greatness, 1832-1869 (Second edition)

By: Cairns, David

014199066X / 9780141990668
2 in stock Need More ?
20 cm 912 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Previous edition: London: Allen Lane, 1999.

Berlioz was one of the towering figures of Romanticism: not only was he a great and revolutionary composer, but also the finest composer of his day and an outstanding critic and writer.

Yet throughout his life he struggled for money and his music was persistently reviled in his native France.

With exceptional insight and sympathy, David Cairns draws together the major strands of Berlioz's life: his tempestuous marriage to the actress Harriet Smithson; the genesis of his famous works, including the Requiem, Romeo and Juliet and his crowning masterpiece The Trojans; his friendships with Mendelssohn, Liszt, Princess Wittgenstein and Wagner; and, finally, his last years haunted once again by personal tragedy.

Here, as never before, is Berlioz the artist - and the man.


3JH c 1800 to c 1900, AVGC5 Romantic music (c 1830 to c 1900), AVH Individual composers & musicians, specific bands & groups, BGF Biography: arts & entertainment

Our price£13.99
RRP £19.99
Save 30%