Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Turning point

Turning point

By: Chase, Paula

stars icon
0062965670 / 9780062965677
Paperback
14/10/2021
Published 14/10/2021
United States
20 cm 384 pages
Children / Juvenile  Learn More
Quiz No: 239751, Points 10.00, Book Level 4.90,
Middle Years - Key Stage 2 Learn More

When being yourself isn't good enough, who should you be?Told in dual perspectives, this provocative and timely novel for middle-school readers by Paula Chase, the acclaimed author of So Done and Dough Boys, will resonate with fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renee Watson. Best friends Rasheeda and Monique are both good girls.

For Sheeda, that means keeping her friends close and following her deeply religious and strict aunt's every rule.

For Mo, that means not making waves in the prestigious and mostly White ballet intensive she's been accepted to. But what happens when Sheeda catches the eye of Mo's older brother, and the invisible racial barriers to Mo's success as a ballerina turn out to be not so invisible?

What happens when you discover that being yourself isn't good enough?

How do you fight back?Paula Chase explores the complex and emotional issues that affect many young teens in this novel set in the same neighborhood as her acclaimed So Done and Dough Boys.

Friendship, family, finding yourself, and standing your ground are the themes of this universal story that is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renee Watson.

BIC:

5AJ Interest age: from c 8 years, YXZ Social issues (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£4.19
RRP £5.99
Save 30%
Other Formats
Ebook£23.50
Laminated£9.68
Paperback£4.19