Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The silver pigs

The silver pigs

By: Davis, Lindsey

stars icon
Part of the Falco series
0099515059 / 9780099515050
Paperback
07/02/2008
25 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
Modern crime
20 cm xviii, 318 p.
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: London: Sidgwick & Jackson, 1989.

Fans of S. J. Parris, Donna Leon, Steven Saylor and C. J. Sansom will absolutely love this gripping page-turner of a historical mystery from multi-million copy bestselling author Lindsey Davis. Full of twists, turns and tension - you'll be hooked from page one... 'Her research has been assiduous and detailed, her commitment to the subject is impressive, and the background detail is often eye-opening' -- Hilary Mantel, Observer'One of the best writers in this field' -- Donna Leon, The Times'Surely the best historical detective in the business' -- Daily Telegraph'Every book in this series is a delight ... highly recommended' -- Library Journal'Be careful, if you get the taste for this you'll end up reading them all...

I can think of worse ways to pass the time' -- ***** Reader review'This series is just SO addictive!' -- ***** Reader review'I just could not put it down' -- ***** Reader review'Engrossing' -- ***** Reader review********************************************************************************A NEW EMPEROR SEEKS AN EXPERIENCED AGENTMarcus Didius Falco is a private informer, the closest thing that first-century Rome has to a detective. A new emperor, Vespasian, has ascended to power. The tides of money and power are in flux, and Rome's vicious games swirl more ferociously than ever. When Falco rescues a young girl in trouble, he catapults himself into a dangerous game involving stolen imperial ingots, a dark political plot and, most hazardous of all, a senator's daughter connected to the traitors Falco has sworn to expose. The rule of law is tenuous for ordinary citizens of Rome.

Only a man with a mind as sharp as a gladius can prevail.

BIC:

FFH Historical mysteries

Our price£7.49
RRP £9.99
Save 25%
Other Formats