Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Bessie's war

Bessie's war

By: Evans, Pamela

stars icon
1472256840 / 9781472256843
Paperback
26/11/2020
349 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
General
20 cm 288 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

A moving and nostalgic saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War.

Perfect for readers of Katie Flynn, Kitty Neale and Dilly Court. It is autumn 1940 and, as the bombs drop on London, a close-knit community struggles to survive. Working at the local post office, Bessie Green does her best to keep her customers' spirits up, but when she receives a telegram addressed to her parents, there's nothing she can do to prevent the heartache that lies ahead. Then Bessie hears that eleven-year-old Daisy Mason has been orphaned in a blast, and she's sure that taking Daisy into their home is just what her parents need to help them overcome their grief. At first, Daisy won't settle, then her handsome brother Josh comes back on leave and things look up for all of them. But the war brings further challenges for Bessie and her friends - with more hearts broken and loved-ones lost - before they can dare to dream of a brighter future... Readers love Pam Evans heartwarming family sagas:'A touching novel' Daily Express'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' Our Time'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' Bolton News'There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters' Lancashire Evening Post'This book touched me very, very much.

It's lovely' North Wales Chronicle

BIC:

1DBKESL London, Greater London, FJMS Second World War fiction, FT Sagas

Our price£7.44
RRP £9.99
Save 25.5%
Other Formats
Hardback£15.64
Paperback£7.44