Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Yusuf Azeem is not a hero

Yusuf Azeem is not a hero

By: Faruqi, Saadia

stars icon
0062943251 / 9780062943255
Laminated
14/10/2021
Published 14/10/2021
United States
21 cm 368 pages : illustrations
Children / Juvenile  Learn More

At a time when we are all asking questions about identity, grief, and how to stand up for what is right, this book by the author of A Thousand Questions will hit home with young readers who love Hena Khan and Varian Johnson-or anyone struggling to understand recent U.S. history and how it still affects us today. Yusuf Azeem has spent all his life in the small town of Frey, Texas-and nearly that long waiting for the chance to participate in the regional robotics competition, which he just knows he can win. Only, this year is going to be more difficult than he thought. Because this year is the twentieth anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks, an anniversary that has everyone in his Muslim community on edge. With "Never Forget" banners everywhere and a hostile group of townspeople protesting the new mosque, Yusuf realizes that the country's anger from two decades ago hasn't gone away.

Can he hold onto his joy-and his friendships-in the face of heartache and prejudice?

BIC:

YF Children's / Teenage fiction & true stories, YXN Personal & social issues: racism & multiculturalism (Children's / Teenage), YXS Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£9.68
RRP £12.99
Save 25.5%