Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Extremely loud & incredibly close
Preview with VLeBooks

Extremely loud & incredibly close

By: Foer, Jonathan Safran

0141909897 / 9780141909899
eBook
813.6
25/05/2006
Available
England
General
302 pages
Copy: 0%; print: 0%
Quiz No: 220957, Points 13.00, Book Level 4.70,
Upper Years - Key Stage 3 Learn More
Reprint. Description based on print version record. Originally published: Boston, Mass.: Houghton Mifflin; London: Hamish Hamilton, 2005.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Closeis Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel

In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key . . .

The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that. But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open?

So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father?

Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer'sExtremely Loud and Incredibly Closewas made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012.

Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author ofEverything is Illuminated, which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, andEating Animals, and the editor ofA Convergence of Birds.

BIC:

FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Licence From £5.63
Learn More
Other Formats