Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The veteran and other stories

The veteran and other stories

By: Forsyth, Frederick

stars icon
0552149233 / 9780552149235
7 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
18 cm 461 p.
general  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: London: Bantam, 2001.
Frederick Forsyth is the author of nine novels: "The Day of the Jackal", "The Odessa File", "The Dogs of War", "The Devil's Alternative", "The Fourth Protocol", "The Negotiator", "The Deceiver", "The Fist of God" and "Icon". His other works include "The Biafra Story", "The Shepherd", a short story collection, "No Comebacks", and a sequel to "The Phantom of the Opera", "The Phantom of Manhattan". He has also collected together an anthology of flying tales, "Great Flying Stories", which includes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Roald Dahl, Len Deighton and H.G. Wells.

A collection of five heart-stopping stories from the master thriller writer.

A miracle in war-torn Siena that begins with the persecution of a young nun in the turbulent days of the sixteenth century and culminates in the bitter German retreat from Italy; a drug smuggling heist on an international flight where the Knock pit their wits against the smugglers; a brural urban murder, where a brilliant QC decides to defend the killers, resulting in a startling justice; an incandescent art scam at a famous London auction house, and a brilliantly plotted revenge that shatters the elegant world of the Old Masters - each story is a remarkable tour de force. And above all here is a brilliant novella, 'Whispering Wind', which begins with the single survivor of Custer's Last Stand at the battle of Little Big Horn.

Then follows the rescue from rape and murder of a Cheyenne girl and a flight across the mountains and forests of the West, ending in a savage present-day manhunt in the wild lands of Montana.


FH Thriller / suspense, FJ Adventure

Our price£6.74
RRP £8.99
Save 25%