Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Coram boy

Coram boy

By: Gavin, Jamila

stars icon
1405277033 / 9781405277037
Paperback
822.914
01/01/2015
268 in stock Need More ?
England
20 cm 356 pages
Children / Juvenile  Learn More
Quiz No: 204258, Points 14.00, Book Level 6.30,
Middle Years - Key Stage 2 Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: London: Mammoth, 2000.

The Whitbread 2000 Book of the Year is a haunting and captivating work of historical fiction for children. The Coram man takes babies and money from desperate mothers, promising to deliver them safely to a Foundling Hospital in London.

Instead, he murders them and buries them by the roadside, to the helpless horror of his mentally ill son, Mish. Mish saves one, Aaron, who grows up happily unaware of his history, proving himself a promising musician. As Aaron's new life takes him closer to his real family, the watchful Mish makes a terrible mistake, delivering Aaron and his best friend Toby back into the hands of the Coram man. It tells the story of a dark time in English history.

Fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mr Tom will love this.

A great read for children aged 10+. Look out for Jamilla's other titles: The Eye of the Horse The Robber Baron's Daughter The Track of the Wind Wheel of Surya Coram Boy won the 2000 Whitbread Children's Book of the Year, was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and has been adapted into a highly acclaimed stage play. Jamila Gavin was born in Mussoorie, India, in the foothills of the Himalayas.

With an Indian father and an English mother, she inherited two rich cultures which ran side by side throughout her life, and which always made her feel she belonged to both countries. The family finally settled in England where Jamila completed her schooling, was a music student, worked for the BBC and became a mother of two children.

It was then that she began writing children's books, and felt a need to reflect the multi-cultural world in which she and her children now lived.

BIC:

DD Plays, playscripts

Our price£5.59
RRP £7.99
Save 30%
Other Formats