Image for The Appeal

The Appeal : A Novel

See all formats and editions

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
Winner of the CWA New Blood Dagger Award

';[W]itty, originala delight.' The New York Times

Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and ';dazzlingly clever' (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick childbut when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.

The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play's star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival.

But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment's efficacynor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the materialemails, messages, letterswith a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered.

A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a ';daringclever, and funny' (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.

Read More
Special order line: only available to educational & business accounts. Sign In
£16.49 Save 25.00%
RRP £21.99
Product Details
Atria Books
198218745X / 9781982187453
Hardback
25/01/2022
432 pages
152 x 229 mm, 621 grams