Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Tales from Ovid  : twenty-four passages from the Metamorphoses

Tales from Ovid : twenty-four passages from the Metamorphoses

By: Hughes, Ted

0571191037 / 9780571191031
10 in stock Need More ?
20 cm xi, 264p.
schools  Learn More

When Michael Hofmann and James Lasdun's ground-breaking anthology After Ovid (also Faber) was published in 1995, Hughes's three contributions to the collective effort were nominated by most critics as outstanding.

He had shown that rare translator's gift for providing not just an accurate account of the original, but one so thoroughly imbued with his own qualities that it was as if Latin and English poet were somehow the same person.

Tales from Ovid, which went on to win the Whitbread Prize for Poetry, continued the project of recreation with 24 passages, including the stories of Phaeton, Actaeon, Echo and Narcissus, Procne, Midas and Pyramus and Thisbe.

In them, Hughes's supreme narrative and poetic skills combine to produce a book that stands, alongside his Crow and Gaudete, as an inspired addition to the myth-making of our time.


DCF Poetry by individual poets


S 1997 Forward Poetry Prize: Best Collection
W 1998 Whitbread Book of the Year
W 1998 WH Smith Literary Prize
W 1997 Whitbread Prize (Poetry)
W 1997 Whitbread Book of the Year
W 1997 Whitbread B

Our price£11.24
RRP £14.99
Save 25%