Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Truly devious  : a mystery

Truly devious : a mystery

By: Johnson, Maureen

stars icon
Part of the Truly Devious series
0062338064 / 9780062338068
Paperback
813.6
24/01/2019
14 in stock Need More ?
21 cm 448 pages
Teenage / Young Adult  Learn More

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E.

Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists.

It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place," he said, "where learning is a game."Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped.

The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym "Truly, Devious." It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case.

That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester.

But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy.

The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three. Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018 * 2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner * Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018

BIC:

YFCF Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage), YFD Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage), YFS School stories (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£5.59
RRP £7.99
Save 30%
Other Formats
Laminated£12.99
Paperback£5.59