Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Book of Haikus

Book of Haikus

By: Kerouac, Jack Weinrich, Regina(Volume editor)

1904634001 / 9781904634003
Paperback / softback
811.54
02/03/2004
Stock expected by 12/12/2020
United Kingdom
127 x 216 mm 240 pages, Illustrations
Primary & Secondary Education (US: Elementary & High School)  Learn More Secondary General (US: Trade) Tertiary Education (US: College) Postgraduate, Research & Scholarly Undergraduate

Above all, a haiku must be very simple and free of all poetic trickery and make a little picture and yet be as airy and graceful as a Vivaldi pastorella.' Jack Kerouac.

Renowned for his groundbreaking Beat Generation novel "On the Road", Jack Kerouac was also a master of the haiku, the three-line, seventeen-syllable Japanese poetic form.

Following in the tradition of Basho, Buson, Shiki, Issa, and other poets, Kerouac experimented with this centuries-old genre, taking it beyond strict syllable counts into what he believed was the form's essence.

He incorporated his 'American' haiku in novels and in his correspondence, notebooks, journals, sketchbooks, and recordings.In this edition, Kerouac scholar Regina Weinreich has supplemented a core haiku manuscript from Kerouac's archives with a generous selection of the rest of his haiku, from both published and unpublished sources.

The result is a compact collection of more than five hundred poems that reveal a lesser known but important side of Jack Kerouac's literary legacy.

BIC:

DCF Poetry by individual poets

Our price£6.71
RRP £8.95
Save 25%