Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Measuring Up

Measuring Up

By: LaMotte, Lily Xu, Ann(Illustrated by)

stars icon
006297386X / 9780062973863
Paperback / softback
741.5973
10/12/2020
Published 10/12/2020
United States
140 x 203 mm, 407 grams 208 pages
Children / Juvenile  Learn More

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!"A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world." -Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops"A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures." -Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the WallTwelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-ma's, seventieth birthday together. Since she can't go to A-ma, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-ma to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-ma's plane ticket!

There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food. And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child.

Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-ma, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next ListFeatured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issueA CBC Hot off the Press October Selection

BIC:

YFN Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage), YFQ Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage), YFW Comic strip fiction / graphic novels (Children's / Teenage), YXF Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£6.74
RRP £8.99
Save 25%
Other Formats