Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for House at Chorlton

House at Chorlton

By: LEITH, PRUE

stars icon
Part of the Angelotti chronicles ; 1 series
1787472620 / 9781787472624
Paperback
23/08/2018
4 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
General
432 pages.
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

Epic multi-generational family saga from household name Prue Leith, perfect for fans of Penny Vincenzi and Barbara Taylor Bradford. A proud family. Snubbed by aristocratic neighbour Lord Frampton at a coming-of-age ball, Donald Oliver dreams of the day he'll have his vengeance. A wild daughter. Laura Oliver, beautiful and tempestuous, falls in love with Giovanni, an Italian ex-prisoner-of-war, now a humble cook.

Disdaining her father's snobbishness - and his wrath - the couple flee to London. A desperate hope. Giovanni and Laura arrive to a city that has not yet re-awoken after the traumas of war.

Facing destitution, only their love for one another and their dream of opening a restaurant business keeps them going. From Cotswolds farmland to London fish markets, society ballrooms to icy gutters, this is a tale of prejudice and ambition, power and passion, and one couple's struggle to overcome all obstacles and carve out a life of their own.

BIC:

FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), FT Sagas

Our price£7.19
RRP £8.99
Save 20%