Image for The Winter List

The Winter List : Gripping historical thriller completes the Seeker series

Part of the The Captain Damian Seeker series series
See all formats and editions

Summer, 1660. Cromwell is dead and Charles Stuart has been restored to the throne.

Men who supported the Protectorate are being hunted down as traitors. 'S. G. MacLean can make any historical period sing with life' Antonia HodgsonBy the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and the Stuarts have been restored under their king, Charles II.

A list of regicides believed to be involved in the death of Charles I is drawn up.

Gruesome executions begin to take place and the hunt intensifies for those who have gone into hiding at home or abroad. Although not a regicide, staunch Republican Damian Seeker is on a list of traitors to the king.

Royalist spy, Lady Anne Winter, is employed to find evidence of guilt or innocence among the names on this Winter List.

Seeker has fled England but his beloved daughter Manon remains, married to Seeker's friend, the lawyer Lawrence Ingolby, and living in York. As the conduit to her father and to others on the Winter List and surrounded by spies and watchers, Manon lives in constant danger and fear of discovery.

One of those spies is closer than even she could have imagined. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor. ******************************Praise for The Winter List 'A wonderful storyteller' The Times 'Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy' Sun 'A propulsive plot . . . well-researched and fascinating' Guardian'Gripping fiction with historical fact' Sunday Times'What a fabulous book . . . there is murder, there is intrigue, there is revenge' 5* Reader Review'Kept me hooked right up to the end' 5* Reader Review'A glorious tale of revenge and retribution . . . Highly recommended' 5* Reader Review

Read More
£7.99 Save 20.00%
RRP £9.99
Add Line Customisation
500+ in stock Need More ?
Add to List
Product Details
Quercus Publishing
1529414261 / 9781529414264
Paperback / softback
United Kingdom
Modern crime
384 pages : map (black and white)
20 cm
Reprint. Originally published: 2023.