Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The Balkan trilogy

The Balkan trilogy

By: Manning, Olivia

stars icon
1786091569 / 9781786091567
360 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
20 cm 1040 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: Harmondsworth: Penguin, 1981. Contents: The great fortune. Originally published: London Heinemann, 1960 -- The spoilt city. Originally published: London Heinemann, 1962 -- Friends and heroes. Originally published London: Heinemann, 1965.

'Her gallery of personages is huge, her scene painting superb, her pathos controlled, her humour quiet and civilised' Anthony Burgess'So glittering is the overall parade - and so entertaining the surface - that the trilogy remains excitingly vivid; it amuses, it diverts and it informs, and to do these things so elegantly is no small achievement' Sunday Times'A fantastically tart and readable account of life in eastern Europe at the start of the war' Sarah WatersThe Balkan Trilogy is the story of a marriage and of a war, a vast, teeming, and complex masterpiece in which Olivia Manning brings the uncertainty and adventure of civilian existence under political and military siege to vibrant life. At the heart of the trilogy are newly-weds Guy and Harriet Pringle, who arrive in Bucharest - the so-called Paris of the East - in the autumn of 1939, just weeks after the German invasion of Poland.

Guy's lecturing job awaits, alongside friends and the ever-ardent Sophie - but for Harriet, alone and naive, it's a strange new life.

Other surprises follow: Romania joins the Axis, and before long German soldiers overrun the capital.

The Pringles flee south to Greece, part of a group of refugees made up of White Russians, journalists, con artists, and dignitaries.

In Athens, however, the couple will face a new challenge of their own...


FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Our price£14.24
RRP £18.99
Save 25%
Other Formats