Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for A winter hope

A winter hope

By: Newberry, Sheila

stars icon
1785761897 / 9781785761898
Paperback
823.92
14/11/2019
500+ in stock Need More ?
England
General
20 cm 460 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: as The family at number five. London: Inner Circle, 2000.

For fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, A Winter Hope is a heart-warming festive novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The Winter Baby and The Nursemaid's Secret, Sheila Newberry. All they want for Christmas is a new home. Number five Kitchener Avenue heralds the start of a new life for the Hope family.

For pregnant Miriam it is a warm, safe environment to bring up her child.

For her sister, fourteen-year-old Barbara, it means independence . . . and boys. And for Fred it provides the security he craves for his young family.

In the lead up to Christmas, the Hopes settle in, and start to make happy memories in their new home.

But World War II is round the corner, and this carefree life can't last.

Soon the family are split up. Bar, wanting to do her bit for the war effort, joins the ATS, while Miriam and her children are evacuated to the countryside and away from her husband.

As the country is thrown into turmoil, can the Hope family come back together and find the happiness they crave? 'A Winter Hope is a heartwarming novel following two sisters from pre-war to post-war, their parallel stories filled with love and loss.

I found myself completely wrapped up with their experiences and shed a tear at the twists and turns of their lives.' Mollie Walton, author of The Daughters of Ironbridge 'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels.

I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen.

You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' - Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her FamilyPreviously published as The Family at Number Five.

BIC:

1DBKESL London, Greater London, 3JJH c 1939 to c 1945 (including WW2), FJMS Second World War fiction, FRH Historical romance, FT Sagas

Our price£5.59
RRP £7.99
Save 30%
Other Formats