Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Prophecy

Prophecy

By: Parris, S. J.

stars icon
Part of the Giordano Bruno series
0007317735 / 9780007317738
Paperback
823.92
18/08/2011
Usually dispatched within 4 weeks
England
Thrillers
20 cm 425 p.
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Originally published: London: HarperCollins.

The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series The second book in S.

J. Parris's bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I Autumn, 1583.

Under Elizabeth's rule, loyalty is bought with blood... An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and Queen Elizabeth's throne is in peril.

As Mary Stuart's supporters scheme to usurp the rightful monarch, a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh. The Queen's spymaster, Francis Walsingham, calls on maverick agent Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters and secure the evidence that will condemn them to death. Bruno is cunning, but so are his enemies.

His identity could be exposed at any moment. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman's murder could point to an even more sinister truth... Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel Praise for S.

J. Parris 'A delicious blend of history and thriller' The Times 'An omnipresent sense of danger' Daily Mail 'Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death' Sunday Times 'Pacy, intricate, and thrilling' Observer 'Vivid, sprawling ...

Well-crafted, exuberant' Financial Times 'Impossible to resist' Daily Telegraph 'Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes' Stuart MacBride 'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse 'The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden 'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor "Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists' Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

BIC:

FF Crime & mystery

Our price£6.74
RRP £8.99
Save 25%
Other Formats