Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The great escape

The great escape

By: Rix, Megan

stars icon
0141342714 / 9780141342719
Paperback
823.92
03/05/2012
5 in stock Need More ?
England
20 cm 211 p. : maps
Children's (6-12)  Learn More
Quiz No: 223949, Points 7.00, Book Level 5.70,
Middle Years - Key Stage 2 Learn More

The Great Escape is a gripping and heartwarming story for 9+ readers about three pets who are separately from their beloved owners in Second World War London, fleeing to the countryside to survive. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo's War Horse and Lauren St John. BUSTER is a lively Jack RussellTIGER is a feisty white and ginger tomROSE is a faithful Collie Robert and Lucy Edwards love their pets more than anything; but the threat of the Second World War forces them to flee to Devon - leaving their animals behind. And as the air raid sirens sound over London, the frightened animals are sent to be put down. Buster, Tiger and Rose make a daring escape but with danger at every turn, can the trio make it across the country as it prepares for battle - and cheat death for the second time?Praise for Megan Rix:'If you love Michael Morpurgo, you will enjoy this' Express 'A moving tale told with warmth, kindliness and lashings of good sense that lovers of Dick King-Smith will especially appreciate' The Times'Every now and then a writer comes along with a unique way of storytelling . . . Meet Megan Rix . . . her novels are deeply moving and will strike a chord with animal lovers.' LoveReadingAbout the author:Megan Rix lives in England with her husband, and their adorable dogs, Traffy and Bella.

Also available by Megan Rix:The Great Escape, The Victory Dogs. www.meganrix.com

BIC:

YFC Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage), YFP Animal stories (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£4.89
RRP £6.99
Save 30%
Other Formats
Ebook£3.75
Paperback£4.89