Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Here I am

Here I am

By: Safran Foer, Jonathan

stars icon
0241966388 / 9780241966389
Paperback
04/05/2017
12 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
General
20 cm 571 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: London: Hamish Hamilton, 2016.

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFrom the bestselling author of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Everything is Illuminated and We are the Weather - a rich and moving novel about modern family lives and the ties that bind'Towering and glorious: a tale of social, familial and marital breakdown and the End of the World.

The funniest literary novel I have ever read' The Times'A rich, beautifully written, ambitious and grandly moving novel, which looks both at the world at large and at the deepest concerns of individual lives' Evening Standard 'Lays bare the interior of a marriage with such intelligence and deep feeling and pitiless clarity, it's impossible to read it and not re-examine your own family' Time'Astonishing.

So sad and so funny and so wry' Scotland on Sunday Jacob and Julia Bloch are about to be tested . . . By Jacob's grandfather, who won't go quietly into a retirement home. By the family reunion, that everyone is dreading. By their son's heroic attempts to get expelled. And by the sexting affair that will rock their marriage. A typical modern American family, the Blochs cling together even as they are torn apart.

Which is when catastrophe decides to strike . . . Confronting the enduring question of what it means to be human with inventiveness, playfulness and compassion, Here I Am is a great American family novel for our times, an unmissable read for fans of Jonathan Franzen and Michael Chabon, a masterpiece about how we live now.

BIC:

FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Our price£6.74
RRP £8.99
Save 25%