Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The light at the bottom of the world

The light at the bottom of the world

By: Shah, London

stars icon
0759555133 / 9780759555136
Paperback
14/10/2021
Published 14/10/2021
United States
21 cm 336 pages
Children / Juvenile  Learn More

From debut author London Shah, comes a thrilling futuristic Sci-Fi mystery perfect for fans of Illuminae and These Broken Stars. In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures swim through the ruins of London.

Trapped in the abyss, humankind wavers between hope and fear of what lurks in the depths around them, and hope that they might one day find a way back to the surface. When sixteen-year-old submersible racer Leyla McQueen is chosen to participate in the city's prestigious annual marathon, she sees an opportunity to save her father, who has been arrested on false charges.

The Prime Minister promises the champion whatever their heart desires.

But the race takes an unexpected turn, forcing Leyla to make an impossible choice. Now she must brave unfathomable waters and defy a corrupt government determined to keep its secrets, all the while dealing with a guarded, hotheaded companion she never asked for in the first place.

If Leyla fails to discover the truths at the heart of her world, or falls prey to her own fears, she risks capture-or worse. And her father will be lost to her forever.

BIC:

YFG Science fiction (Children's / Teenage), YNTR Transport (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£6.70
RRP £8.99
Save 25.5%