Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Other Words for Home

Other Words for Home

By: Warga, Jasmine

0062747819 / 9780062747815
Paperback
06/04/2021
8 in stock Need More ?
130 x 194 mm, 240 grams 368 pages

New York Timesbestseller and Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl whomust leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought shed be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved havent quite prepared her for starting school in the USand her new label of Middle Eastern, an identity shes never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprisesthere are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

BIC:

Our price£5.59
RRP £7.99
Save 30%
Other Formats