Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for How fiction works

How fiction works

By: Wood, James

0224079832 / 9780224079839
Hardback
07/02/2008
Usually dispatched within 2 weeks
United Kingdom
23 cm 194 p.
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel", "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style.

In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character?

What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint?Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel.

Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.

BIC:

DSK Literary studies: fiction, novelists & prose writers

Our price£16.99
Other Formats
CD-Audio£19.95
eBook£15.00
Hardback£16.99
Paperback£7.49