Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The good guy

The good guy

By: Beale, Susan

stars icon
1473630339 / 9781473630338
Hardback
16/06/2016
Cancelled
United Kingdom
General
24 cm 311 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather. Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration.

His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre.

But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear. The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

BIC:

FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Our price£16.99