Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The Egyptian Mirror

The Egyptian Mirror

By: Bedard, Michael

stars icon
177278110X / 9781772781106
Hardback
05/05/2020
Stock expected by 05/06/2020
Canada
140 x 203 mm 288 pages
Children / Juvenile  Learn More

A darkly fantastic middle-grade mystery with the ominous atmosphere loved by fans of Jonathan Auxier and Jonathan StroudThirteen-year-old Simon's life has been knocked askew ever since his family moved into his deceased grandfather's house.

First there's his eccentric neighbor Mr. Hawkins, who is laid up with a broken leg. Simon's mother begins sending him over there with dinner for the elderly man, and soon Mr. Hawkins is depending on Simon to fetch old books and manuscript pages from all over his eerie, mirror-filled house.

There's one mirror in particular, an ancient Egyptian piece, that keeps showing Simon visions of a disturbing figure emerging from its depths.

No one else sees the figure, though-just like they don't see the huge, gaunt dog lurking in Mr. Hawkins' bushes. As Simon himself becomes increasingly plagued by a mysterious illness, he is powerless to help as his neighbor descends into paranoia about dark forces encircling his house. The terrible part is, Mr. Hawkins is right. Everything is about to get much, much worse. With an eerie atmosphere perfect for fans of Jonathan Auxier and Jonathan Stroud, The Egyptian Mirror is a deliciously unsettling mystery from Michael Bedard, the author of The Green Man, A Darker Magic, and the Governor General's Award-winning Redwork.

BIC:

5AK Interest age: from c 9 years, YFD Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£10.42
RRP £13.99
Save 25.5%