Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for New kid

New kid

By: Craft, Jerry Craft, Jerry(Illustrated by)

stars icon
0062691198 / 9780062691194
Paperback
21/02/2019
156 in stock Need More ?
United States
Graphic novels
256 pages : chiefly illustrations
Children / Juvenile  Learn More
Quiz No: 239213, Points 2.00, Book Level 2.90,
Middle Years - Key Stage 2 Learn More

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life.

But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds-and not really fitting into either one.

Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading. New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List. Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!

BIC:

YFW Comic strip fiction / graphic novels (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£6.74
RRP £8.99
Save 25%
Other Formats