Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Tuning up at dawn  : a memoir of music and Majorca

Tuning up at dawn : a memoir of music and Majorca

By: Graves, Tomas

0007128185 / 9780007128181
Paperback
01/08/2005
1 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
20 cm 422 p.
general  Learn More
Reprint. Originally published: London: Fourth Estate, 2004.
Includes PS Section A loving portrait of the other Majorca, and of a blissful life there revolving around the magic of music - a book to savour, perfect for escaping those crowded beaches. For readers of Driving Over Lemons or Extra Virgin - ideal sunny leisure reading. Tomas Graves's father was Robert Graves, and his grandfather was a musicologist. The book has a host of walk-on parts for the likes of Kingsley Amis, Jimi Hendrix, Ava Gardner, Paul Bowles and Spike Milligan. A Radio 4 Book of the Week selection on publiction in hardback. Competition: Driving Over Lemons, Extra Virgin, Manana M

A loving portrait of the other Majorca, and of a blissful life there revolving around the magic of music - a book to savour, perfect for escaping those crowded beaches.

Tomas Graves was born in and belongs to Majorca. His father, the great love poet Robert Graves, famously ended up in the beautiful Mediterranean island pretty much by accident, but it is the happiest accident of Tomas' life.

His love for the special beauties of Majorcan culture shines on every page of this infectiously happy book.

This is the real Majorca. Tuning Up at Dawn examines both the suppression and renaissance of the ancient native culture - above all, its music.

Graves is a musician himself, and his own musical escapades give the book its brilliantly distinctive tone.

A host of musicians - Jimi Hendrix, Kevin Ayers, Bob Geldof, Sinead O'Connor and Eurovision contestants - have stayed in Majorca and provide the soundtrack to this rhythmic, irresistible tour around a magical island and its magical culture.

BIC:

1DSEB Balearic islands, AV Music, WTL Travel writing

Our price£9.74
RRP £12.99
Save 25%