Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Catch-22

Catch-22 ([New ed.])

By: Heller, Joseph

stars icon
1857152204 / 9781857152203
Hardback
813.54
21/09/1995
9 in stock Need More ?
England
Contemporary classics
22 cm xxxix, 568p.
general  Learn More
Quiz No: 200690, Points 30.00, Book Level 7.10,
Upper Years - Key Stage 3 Learn More
Originally published: London: Jonathan Cape, 1962.

A burlesque epic in the tradition of THE GOOD SOLDIER SCHWEIK, CATCH-22 exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea.

The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane.

With a cast of magnificently larger-than-life characters who are rushed along at a breathless pace, for once this really is a novel it's hard to put down.

CATCH-22 was made into a film.

BIC:

FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), FJM War & combat fiction

Prizes:

S 2003 BBC Big Read Top 100

Our price£11.19
RRP £15.99
Save 30%
Other Formats