Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Quicksand of memory

Quicksand of memory

By: Malone, Michael J.

stars icon
1913193969 / 9781913193966
Paperback
09/12/2021
241 in stock Need More ?
United Kingdom
Thrillers
20 cm 324 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

Scarred by their pasts, Jenna and Luke fall in love, brimming with hope for a rosy future.

But someone has been watching, with chilling plans for revenge ...

An emotive, twisty, disturbing new psychological thriller by the critically acclaimed author of A Suitable Lie and In the Absence of Miracles. 'Compelling, disturbing and engaging' Caro Ramsay'Malone is the master of twists, turns and the unexpected, with the skill to keep things grounded ... a master of his craft' Herald Scotland'Tense, pacey and lyrical ... cements Malone in the firmament of Tartan Noir, marrying McIlvanney and Banks to a modern domestic noir that'll have you reading into the wee sma' hours' Ed James______________________________________________The darker the memory, the deadlier the obsession... Jenna is trying to rebuild her life after a series of disastrous relationships.

Luke is struggling to provide a safe, loving home for his deceased partner's young son, following a devastating tragedy. When Jenna and Luke meet and fall in love, they are certain they can achieve the stability and happiness they both desperately need. And yet, someone is watching. Someone who has been scarred by past events. Someone who will stop at nothing to get revenge... Dark, unsettling and immensely moving, Quicksand of Memory is a chilling reminder that we are not only punished for our sins, but by them, and that memories left to blacken and sharpen over time are the perfect breeding ground for obsession, and murder... ________________________________________________________'Complex, human characters living in a page-turning world' Douglas Skelton 'Long-held secrets, complex relationships and an ever increasing sense of menace ... fantastic' Steph Broadribb 'A fascinating exploration of damage, toxicity, trauma and love' Sharon Bairden 'Darkly compelling and provocative ... from the outset, whiplike tendrils of disquiet creep their way into the story' LoveReading'Masterfully combines the dark, cruel elements of people's lives and nature with a glimmer of light and hope' Fiona Sharp 'An almost perfect storm of circumstances that lead us to a dramatic and potentially deadly conclusion ... an emotionally charged story' Jen Med's Book Reviews 'I can genuinely say: Fiction doesn't get any better than this' Book Review Cafe Praise for Michael J.

Malone'A beautifully written tale, original, engrossing and scary ... a dark joy' The Times 'A complex and multilayered story - perfect for a wintry night' Sunday Express'Vivid, visceral and compulsive' Ian Rankin'A terrific read ...

I read it in one sitting' Martina Cole'A deeply satisfying read' Sunday Times'A fine, page-turning thriller' Daily Mail'Malone's latest is an unsettling, multi-layered and expertly paced domestic noir drama that delves into one family's dark secrets, shame and lies' CultureFly'Engrossing, hard-hitting - even shocking - with a light poetic frosting.

Another superb read!' Douglas Skelton'A dark and unnerving psychological thriller that draws you deep into the lives of the characters and refuses to let go.

This is a brilliantly written book; I could not put it down' Caroline Mitchell'A chilling tale of the unexpected that journeys right into the dark heart of domesticity' Marnie Riches For fans of Jodie Picoult, Gillian McAllister, Cara Hunter, Shari Lapena, Liz Nugent and Mark Edward

BIC:

FF Crime & mystery, FH Thriller / suspense

Our price£6.74
RRP £8.99
Save 25%
Other Formats