Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The tattooist of Auschwitz

The tattooist of Auschwitz

By: Morris, Heather

stars icon
1785763679 / 9781785763670
Paperback
823.92
04/10/2018
459 in stock Need More ?
England
General
20 cm 270 pages : illustrations (black and white), maps (black and white)
General (US: Trade)  Learn More
Quiz No: 236825, Points 9.00, Book Level 5.10,
Upper Years - Key Stage 3 Learn More

**4 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDE**For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau.

He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl.

For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. -----Heather Morris is on tour in the UK this autumn - for details see @ZaffreBooks on Twitter -----'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

BIC:

FV Historical fiction

Our price£6.29
RRP £8.99
Save 30%
Other Formats