Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Vespertine

Vespertine

By: Rogerson, Margaret

stars icon
1398507946 / 9781398507944
Laminated
05/10/2021
Published 05/10/2021
United Kingdom
22 cm 368 pages
Teenage / Young Adult  Learn More

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling new YA fantasy about a teen girl with mythic abilities who must defend her world against restless spirits of the dead.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Alexandra Bracken and Holly Black. The dead of Loraille do not rest. Artemisia is training to be a Gray Sister, a nun who cleanses the bodies of the deceased so that their souls can pass on.

She'd rather deal with the dead than the living, who point and whisper about the odd girl who was once possessed by a violent spirit. When her convent is attacked by possessed soldiers, Artemisia fights back by awakening an ancient spirit bound to a high saint's relic.

It is a revenant, a malevolent being now whispering in her head.

Wielding its extraordinary power almost consumes her in body and soul.

But death has come to Loraille, and only a vespertine, a priestess trained to wield a high relic, has a chance of stopping it. As Artemisia investigates a mystery of saints, secrets and dark magic, an ancient evil is stirring.

Can an untrained girl, tormented by the burden of containing the revenant's devouring power, have any hope of defeating it?

BIC:

YFHR Fantasy romance (Teenage), YNR Religion & beliefs: general interest (Children's / Teenage), YNXW Witches & ghosts (Children's / Teenage)

Our price£10.49
RRP £14.99
Save 30%
Other Formats