Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for Ariadne

Ariadne

By: Saint, Jennifer

stars icon
1472273869 / 9781472273864
Hardback
29/04/2021
Published 29/04/2021
United Kingdom
Historic novels
24 cm 400 pages
General (US: Trade)  Learn More

A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur.

Perfect for fans of CIRCE, A SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS. 'ARIADNE gives voice to the misused Princess of Crete who betrayed her father to save Theseus from the Minotaur.

Relevant and revelatory.' - StylistAs Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the Minotaur echo from the Labyrinth beneath the palace.

The Minotaur - Minos's greatest shame and Ariadne's brother - demands blood every year.

When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives in Crete as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne falls in love with him.

But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that in a world ruled by mercurial gods - drawing their attention can cost you everything.

In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne's decision to betray Crete for Theseus ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover's ambition?ARIADNE gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths, and speaks to their strength in the face of angry, petulant Gods.

Beautifully written and completely immersive, this is an exceptional debut novel. Praise for Jennifer Saint and ARIADNE:'With her wonderfully executed debut that reimagines the classic tale of Theseus, Adriane and the Minotaur, Jennifer Saint joins the likes of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker in forging mesmerising retellings of ancient Greek myths from a female perspective.' - Waterstones.com'Saint's immersive novel thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne.' - iPaper'What happens after the monster is defeated and the princess leaves with the hero?

Jennifer Saint's ARIADNE is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history. . .With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters.' - Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of THE NIGHT TIGER

BIC:

FQ Myth & legend told as fiction, FV Historical fiction, HRKP3 Ancient Greek religion & mythology

Our price£11.99
RRP £14.99
Save 20%
Other Formats
Hardback£11.99
Paperback£7.19