Basket: 0 items £0.00
Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660
Image for The Dangerous Art of Blending In

The Dangerous Art of Blending In

By: Surmelis, Angelo

0062659014 / 9780062659019
Paperback
11/06/2019
Usually dispatched within 4 weeks
135 x 203 mm, 255 grams 336 pages

~Lambda Literary Award finalist for the best LGBT YA novel of 2018~

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesnt know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scaredEvan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But its Henry whos now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And its Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mothers harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mothers abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the authors own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

BIC:

Our price£9.99
Save up to 15%*
* Variable discounts between 0% and 15% are applied to items where BBfS cannot determine exact discounts from suppliers.
Other Formats