Submit an Enquiry or Call Us +44 (0) 1482 384660

Oscar's Book Prize

Oscar’s Book Prize is an annual prize for the best under-fives book of the year. As of 2021, the Prize awards the winner(s) £10,000. The prize is awarded in memory of Oscar Ashton and in partnership with Amazon, the Evening Standard and the National Literacy Trust.



Haughton, Chris ISBN: 9781529503982

Add to Basket

From Chris Haughton comes a funny, suspenseful and keenly observed cautionary tale about pushing boundaries and indulging your more mischievous, cheeky side (when nobody is looking). Three little monkeys, and their big monkey, are sitting high up on their branch in the forest canopy. OK, monkeys! I'm off, says the big monkey. Now remember. Whatever you do, do NOT go down to the mango tree. There are tigers down there. Mmm ... mangos! think the little monkeys. They LOVE mangos. Hmm ... maybe ... maybe they could just look at the mangos? That'd be OK, right?

- Browns Books Synopsis

HRH Princess Beatrice became the Royal Patron of Oscar’s Book Prize in March 2017 after helping to judge the prize the previous year. The Princess has written publicly about her struggles with dyslexia as a child, and how the support of her parents and the magic of stories helped her fall in love with reading. On World Book Day in 2017 she shared her reading memories in an article for the Evening Standard.